Accomplished Delta Zetas

The Arts


  • Violet Hensen Anderson*, Beta Lambda, University of Tennessee/Knoxville; famous watercolor artist and poet; donated a 1993 limited edition print of Delta Zeta National Headquarters as a fund raiser for the Foundation.
  • Zenith Jones Brown* (a.k.a. Leslie Ford), Kappa, University of Washington; nationally noted mystery writer , e.g., Murder is the Payoff.
  • Dr. Rebecca Burkhardt, Gamma Zeta, Southwestern University; conductor and music director of the Northern Iowa Symphony Orchestra.; music director of Northern Iowa Symphony, professor of music at the University of Northern Iowa; guest conductor of the Moscow Chamber Orchestra.
  • Ethel Mae Bishop Gullette*, Gamma, University of Minnesota; concert pianist; 1982 Woman of the Year.
  • Marilyn “Lynn” Scheetz Troy Maniscalco, Gamma Delta, Pennsylvania State University; international photographer and photo journalist; received the Delaware Press Association’s DPA Communicator of Achievement Award; first woman to achieve the master photojournalist rating from the Photographic Society of America (PSA); named PSA’s Photojournalist of the Year for 2002.
  • Deanna McLendon, Beta Delta, University of South Carolina; journalist for The Times-Picayune newspaper (Louisiana): received two newsroom-wide 2006 Pulitzer Prizes in public service and breaking news for her coverage of Hurricane Katrina in 2006.
  • Susan Miller, Beta Omega, New York University; accredited professional astrologer and acclaimed author; author of Planets and Possibilities and The Year Ahead; also a columnist, lecturer and teacher, who devotes herself full time to the study and advancement of astrology. Created the popular website
  • Edna Mae Will Burnam Nauman*, Delta Chi, California State University/Chico; International published composer of piano music for students; 1992 Woman of the Year.
  • Eleanor Hansen Nichols*, Tau, University of Wisconsin, silversmith and jewelry maker; studied at the Goldsmith Company in Stockholm, Sweden. She was the Vice President of the National Arts Society. Eleanor designed the Evelyn Adams Costello President’s Plaque and the Woman of the Year medallion; named Woman of the Year for 1979.
  • Rachel Mason Peden*, Epsilon, Indiana University; author; Rural Free: A Farmwife’s Almanac of Country Living; The Land, The People; featured columnist for the Indianapolis Star; 1972 Woman of the Year.
  • Miriam E. Mason Swain, Epsilon, Indiana University; author of children’s books from the 1930s to 1960s, including Katie Kittenheart, Young Audubon; 1966 Woman of the Year.
  • Dawn Whipple Williams, Mu, University of California/Berkley; author of Me and My Father’s Shadow: A Daughter’s Quest and Biography of Ted Lewis, The Jazz King, which recently won the Entertainment Book of the Year Award. Dawn is also a nationally acclaimed author of children’s books.

*Flame Eternal