Women of Achievement

Many Delta Zetas say that the Sorority experience truly informs their personal and professional success. Here are Delta Zetas who have distinguished themselves in a variety of fields and who embody the values of the Sorority they pledged to in their college days.


Ivy Baker Priest

Alpha Chi Chapter, University of California/Los Angeles, Treasurer of the United States 1953-1961

Florence Henderson

Alpha Chi Chapter, University of California/Los Angeles, Actress. Most famous for her role as Carol Brady in “The Brady Bunch.”

Dr. Carolyn Leach Huntoon

Epsilon Beta Chapter, Northwestern Louisania State College, 1977 Woman of the Year. Led the way for women in the space program when named NASA’s Director of the Johnson Space Center.

Lucile Crowell Cooks

Alpha Chapter, Miami University, 1973 Woman of the Year, Chairman of the Board of Trustees at Miami University. First woman to serve on board of a major state university.

Mercedes Bates

Chi Chapter, Oregon State University, 1970 Woman of the Year, Executive Vice President and Director of the Betty Crocker Kitchens at General Mills. First female vice president of General Mills.

Dr. Mildred Freburg Berry

Iota Chapter, University of Iowa, 1951 Woman of the Year, Ph.D., author and researcher of language disorders in children.

Arlene Palsgraff Davis

Gamma Alpha, Chapter Baldwin Wallace College, 1960 Woman of the Year. One of the first women in aviation.

Edith Head

Mu Chapter, University of California/Berkeley, 1968 Woman of the Year, eight-time Academy Award-winning costume designer.

Hala Gaines Moddelmog

Iota Nu Chapter, Georgia Southern College, 2008 Woman of the Year, President and CEO of the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation.

Jean Wickstrom Liles

Alpha Gamma Chapter, University of Alabama, 2002 Woman of the Year. Senior Foods Editor of Southern Living magazine and author of numerous cookbooks.

Kay Yow

Zeta Lambda Chapter, East Carolina University, 1987 Woman of the Year, College and Olympic basketball coach. Inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame and inaugural ESPY Award winner.

Miriam Mason Swain

Epsilon Chapter, Indiana University, 1966 Woman of the Year, nationally-recognized children’s author.

Maurine Brown Neuberger

Omega Chapter, University of Oregon, 1961 Woman of the Year, Third woman elected to the United States Senate.

Eleanor Hansen Nichols

Tau Chapter, University of Wisconsin, 1979 Woman of the Year, silversmith and jeweler. Designed Delta Zeta’s Evelyn Adams Costello President’s Plaque and the Woman of the Year medallion.

Jean Baughman Templeton

Gamma Sigma Chapter, Eastern Michigan University, 2005 Woman of the Year, CEO and Chairman of the Board of Wesfam Restaurants, Inc., a franchise of Burger King Corporation in Alabama.

Dr. Mary Hill Fulstone

Mu Chapter, University of California/Berkeley, 1950 Woman of the Year. A pioneer of medicine in the Nevada frontier.

Gail Patrick

Alpha Pi Chapter, Howard College, 1962 Woman of the Year, motion picture actress and one of the first female television producers in the 1950s and 1960s.

To view more Delta Zeta Women of Achievement visit the Florida Room (Women of Achievement Room) in the Museum!