Accomplished Delta Zetas

Law, Government and the Military

  • Shelley Levine Berkley, Iota Phi (University of Nevada/Las Vegas), (D-NV) member of the U.S. House of Representatives. She works to increase access to affordable, high quality health care for America’s families; encourages the development of alternative energy sources; and to provide the resources needed to meet the needs of U.S. veterans and military families. She was Delta Zeta’s 1991 Woman of the Year.
  • Beverly Baldwin Burnsed*, Alpha Sigma (Florida State University); former member of Florida State legislature and Assistant Secretary of State; 1983 Woman of the Year.
  • Vice Admiral Lisa M. Franchetti, Alpha Alpha, Northwestern University; the second woman to serve as fleet commander in the U.S. Navy when she led the United States 6th Fleet.
  • Major General Barbara Campbell Fast, Epsilon Gamma (University of Central Missouri, formerly Central Missouri State University); U.S. Army (Ret.), Associate Deputy Director of Operations, Military Support, National Security Agency (NSA); 2000 Woman of the Year.
  • Nola Tedesco Foulston, Delta Omega (Fort Hays State University); District Attorney in Sedgwick County, Kansas; prosecuted Dennis Rader, the man sentenced to ten life terms as Wichita’s BTK serial killer. Nola was instrumental in developing the Division of Sex Offenses and Crimes Against Children, and has received awards and commendations which include the 2003 Kansas Court and District Attorney Association Prosecutor of the Year. She has appeared frequently on national TV programs and forums, including “48 Hours,” National Public Radio, and Court TV.
  • Nancy Patricia Gibbs, Kappa (University of Washington); attorney for Preston, Gates, and Ellis, LLP, one of the 100 largest law firms in the country, and Disciplinary Proceeding Hearing Officer for the Washington State Bar Assoc.; previously, Assistant General Council with Bank of America. 2001 Woman of the Year.
  • Yvonne Kauger, Epsilon Lambda, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Justice on the Oklahoma Supreme Court; former Chief Justice of the Oklahoma Supreme Court (1997-1998) received the American Judicature Society’s Heritage Award; 1988 Woman of the Year.
  • Colonel Michele “Mitzi” Manning, Gamma Sigma (Eastern Michigan University), U.S. Army (Ret.); USMA Former Commander-Western Sector, United States Military Entrance Processing Command; Veterans Affairs Advisory Committee on Women Veterans; National Chaplain-Women Marines Association.
  • Crown Princess Martha of Norway*, Upsilon (University of North Dakota) became an initiated member of Delta Zeta after visiting the University of North Dakota and becoming interested in the role sorority played in the lives of college women; was initiated in 1939 by a ceremony that was presided over by National President Myrtle Graeter Malott, Delta (DePauw University); personally thanked Delta Zeta for aid to her country’s children through the Foreign Friendships Service after World War II.
  • Jane Gray Nelson, Iota Psi (University of Texas/Arlington) Senator for the state of Texas; Governor for a Day in 2004 in the state of Texas; President Pro Tempore of the Texas Senate; actively lobbies for domestic violence laws; put a cap on non-economic damages for medical malpractice, and reinstituted physical education in Texas schools.
  • Maurine Brown Neuberger*, Omega (University of Oregon); U.S. Senator from Oregon from 1961-66; sponsored Wildlife Preservation Bill; first woman senator elected in her own right; teacher of American government at Boston University, Radcliffe Institute and Reed College. 1962 Woman of the Year.
  • Susan Patterson Perry-Lindle, Epsilon Omega (University of Wisconsin/Eau Claire); U.S. Army(Ret.) Colonel, Military Intelligence Corp.; first female officer assigned to a combat brigade of an infantry division in Europe.
  • Ivy Baker Priest* (Stevens), Alpha Chi (University of California/Los Angeles), pictured center with her two daughters, Pat Priest, Alpha Chi, right, actress (see Entertainment, Sports and the Media) and Nancy Priest, Alpha Chi, left; United States Treasurer President Dwight D. Eisenhower from 1953 to 1961; California State Treasurer (look for her name on old money).
  • Esther Glewwe Stassen*, Gamma (University of Minnesota); alumna initiate; wife of Presidential Candidate Harold Stassen; noted as instrumental in the founding of the United Nations.
  • Melody McDonald Wilkinson, Lambda Omicron (Angelo State University); attorney and partner, Cooley Manion Jones, LLP, Boston-based law firm specializing in litigation; third woman to hold position as President of the Texas Young Lawyers Association; Fellow of the Business Law Section of the American Bar Association (ABA); named to the 40 Under 40 awarded by the Texas Lawyer; honored as one of the Great Women of Texas in 2001. 2003 Woman of the Year.

*Flame Eternal